A Little About Me…

I am by nature, an animal lover.  As a young child I had numerous pets including a calf, a pig, a horse, a rabbit, a turtle, a chicken, multiple dogs and cats, birds, and hamsters.   As an adult, I became a primary teacher and true to my nature and that of small children, there were always animals in my classroom.  Probably the most unique was a tarantula (or maybe it was the

Child of the Earth

Child of the Earth

Child of the Earth–there was one of those, too) but the menagerie also included fish, mice and birds.  I neglected to mention the bat (in a milk bottle!), the salamander, the ants, the snails, the frogs, the butterflies and the snake. The tarantula, the child of the earth, the salamander, the snake and the bat were all brought in by children.  Needless to say, we didn’t keep them for very long!

Toward the end of my teaching career, I left the primary setting and started teaching music full time.  We didn’t have much room for pets, so that became a thing of the past.  Through it all, there has always been a dog in my life.

As I came to the end of my teaching career and started looking forward to retirement, I began wondering what I wanted to do with the rest of my life.  I knew I had a love of animals-especially dogs, and I also really enjoyed working on the computer.  So, I started trying to think of a way that I might be able to combine the two.  I came upon the idea of starting a website for dog lovers like myself.  It would be a site that would allow people who love their dogs, to purchase items that proclaim the love they have for their special friend.  The result of that idea can be found here.  It is a work in progress and this blog will be an account of what has already occurred and what is being added.  In addition, I will probably reminisce about the dogs I have known and the ones I have now.  I hope to have not only my own opinions, but those of others.  Please feel free to post your treasured memories and pictures of your favorite dogs–or other animals for that matter!

I am new to this blogging business, so be patient with my mistakes.  I am not quite sure if I am doing it correctly, but it is the way I am doing it until someone says do something different!  🙂

Share

2 Responses

  1. You are lovely. So nice to meet you on Twitter. Your blog is simply wonderful, thank you. xx

Leave a Reply

